Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3573)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
Your computer is way too old, and literally horrible. That is why it is so slow. This is not a bug and therefore not something worth posting here. Nor is your hardware a priority for us to support.
Bizhawk 1.8.2 (1.8.3)
When I import a lsmv file from lsnes and play the bk2 movie, bsnes core is set to Performance, even if it was Compatibility before. I can't change to Compatibility without stopping the movie. That is probably why the movie will always desync.
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3573)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
That is indeed an oversight, when making an imported movie, it simply uses the default sync settings (since a movie from another emulator has no such concept). The default is performance. Special code needs to be added to set compatibility.
As a work around until then you can open the bk2 with an archive tool (7z recommended), extract the SyncSettings file and find performance and change it to compatibility then put the file back into the archive.
I tried two movies and SyncSettings.json is only 2 bytes: 0d 0a
EDIT: if the movie was originally done on Bizhawk, this file will be something like {"o":{"$type":"BizHawk.Emulation.Cores.Nintendo.SNES.LibsnesCore+SnesSyncSettings, BizHawk.Emulation.Cores","Profile":"Compatibility"}}
Core is now compatibility, but it's still desyncing.
I dont believe we can guarantee that a .lsmv will sync. We each had to butcher our bsnes cores in different and exciting ways to make them useful as a rerecording emulator.
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
/me wonders how many geeks will stick to bsnes after snes9x core is added.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
In BizHawk 1.8.4 when using GBCHawk it will occasionally crash when I try to load a savestate. It will also crash when loading a movie that doesn't exist, which was meant to be fixed in the latest update?
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
TehSeven wrote:
It will also crash when loading a movie that doesn't exist, which was meant to be fixed in the latest update?
Which Core crashed? Because 1.8.4 uses an override to handle missing movie files for all of them. Or at least it should. How are you loading the movie file? Autoload? Manually selecting it?
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war.
The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
It will also crash when loading a movie that doesn't exist, which was meant to be fixed in the latest update?
Which Core crashed? Because 1.8.4 uses an override to handle missing movie files for all of them. Or at least it should. How are you loading the movie file? Autoload? Manually selecting it?
I just have "NES with QuickNES" selected under cores, not sure if that's what you mean. I'm loading the movie file via recent movies, no autoload.
[edit] It seems to be existing movies too - they'll randomly crash as well.
Issue: RAM Watch freezing not working
BizHawk version : 1.8.4
Game: Rayman 2
Platform: N64
Domain : RDRAM
Current:
Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD
Paused:
N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair)
GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven)
TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
[edit] It seems to be existing movies too - they'll randomly crash as well.
I've had this happen—one or two times—after fiddling with movie files in a text editor. I just disregarded it as a one-off error (file access rights or whatever), but if it's happening more often I'll try to get the debugger on it.
another 2600 defect, this one on Warlords. It displays the right row of bricks parallel to the left row. Also, the rightmost bricks are not there. I also verified this on the DS version, which proves this is a defect.
I doubt that's true. Try running a lua script that doesn't draw anything. You should see that it's faster. Drawing is slow, for now, and all you can do is upgrade your CPU.
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3573)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
also things like memory hooks are going to have a speed cost. So you can't really say "any lua script" is slow. It is what you are doing with lua that is slow.
I see, memory hooks were indeed the culprit. I am sure there must be a way to make them more efficient, though. After all, Snes9x can handle a lot of them just fine. Drawing is a little slow, but not too bad. Of course, any improvements in this department would be welcome as well.
Joined: 2/2/2013
Posts: 316
Location: Where the world can see me.
I tried opening BizHawk (already installed the prereq)
It shows that it is active in Task Manager, but after a few seconds, it goes away like it refuses to open.
Perception is the greatest deception.
nitrogenesis: 04:43:04: but TAS is life
nitrogenesis: 04:43:23: TAS everyday
MKWii TAS Discord: https://discord.gg/z5bu44H
MKWii TAS Records: https://goo.gl/ZrGKgt
Currently Trying to TAS:
On Hold:
The Incredibles (GC)
The Incredibles: Rise Of The Underminer (GC)
Future:
(GC) Egg Mania: Eggstreme Madness
(Wii) The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of The Unicorn
Mario Kart Wii 32 Track GP
perhaps your hooks are being executed continuously? if they get executed on every single cpu cycle, for example, then you should expect the software to run at 1/1000th its original speed.
Are you using bizhawk in bsnes or snes9x mode? It wouldnt be fair to compare your overall performance in snes9x with the hooks to bsnes with the hooks.
If youre comparing the proportional speed hit of the hooks in snes9x vs bizhawk, then bsnes in bizhawk will suffer exceptionally due to problems communicating efficiently with the bsnes core.
which version of bizhawk are you using, have you tried disabling your security software, and what GPU and OS are your system running? have you googled for bizhawk "task manager" and followed any of that guidance?
Issue: RAM Watch freezing not working
BizHawk version : 1.8.4
Game: Rayman 2
Platform: N64
Domain : RDRAM
Also reporting the same issue with 1.8.4 working with SNES RAM in Run Saber.
Some other stuff:
-Loading 1.8.4 sometimes causes it to load with no frame limiter setting ("Speed 100%") and thus has some unpredictable results. With clock throttle it was giving less than 1 fps until I forced the limiter on.
-Related to the above, I muted audio while "Audio Throttle" was selected. It didn't do anything to immediately, but closing and re-opening the program made it run at an unlimited frame rate, again until I forced it back.
-For Lua scripting, the gui.text function seems to have changed scaling. I now need to give values about twice what I had before to get the same position in the game window (both x and y). This may have been an intentional change, but scripts made for older versions of bizhawk now don't match up.