A few words about my experiment with BizHawk.
I wanted to try to make a multi-platform multi-TAS for the GG and SMS versions of Aerial Assault. So while testing things, I made separate movie files of me casually playing through the two games, you know, for rough timing comparison later on, but now as I try to replay the movie files, they both desync. With GG it's at the third level, with SMS it desyncs at first level. I'm not sure what kind of problem this is... it could be that (at least on SMS) enemies spawned differently during replay? (this was on BizHawk 1.0)
I proceeded anyway to see how it would work out to TAS on two emulators at once (with background input on). So I set the same movie file to record on both emulators and started (perhaps an unnecessary step? I mean, I could've used two separate movie files too, both end up with identical input in any case, etc... but I digress).
Generally things went well, but I noticed that if I held frame advance down to go to normal speed momentarily, or just unpaused to let game run in real time for a moment, the two emulators' frame counts could become different from each other, mostly by 1 frame but sometimes more. I guess that's something noteworthy to report, and a likely hindrance for multi-TASing... (this was on BizHawk 1.2)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
This looks pretty much common for any emulator. You force them to sync perfectly by advancing, leaving both to run usually gives timing desync.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
then youre probably using a bad rom. i still havent had a chance to do the work to make the rom loader more lenient for all sorts of bad roms. itll load all those bad roms one day.
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3572)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
What he said. You should not let it run full speed ever on any emulator. Also, recording to the same movie is a really really bad idea on any emulator. If nothing else, you want a copy of each to verify they are indeed the same, to catch possible issues.
And your first experiment with the emulator is multi-game AND multi-platform TASing? Man, you are pushing us hard right off the bat! I'm glad to hear the background input is working out well though, I haven't tested it much.
As for the desyncs, I don't know, but those certainly concern me. Should be sync stable on the SMS core. We have two published SMS movies using bizhawk and my tests showed it was fine. However, I don't think anyone has specifically done game gear, so maybe there is some issues with the savestates for that platform? Let me know if you experience any more desyncs, and ideally provide the movie and some savestates from the TAS, and any information you may have. Desync issues are really hard to catch given they are generally rare and hard to reproduce.
hegyak, it seems youre using the aladdin version. There are two versions of the game which can be called good. The aladdin version may have a mistake in bootgod's cart database which is tripping up the emulator. In r2011 i just checked in a hack to load this game, which will be removed when the DB gets straightened out at some unknown point in the future.
I have some trouble when I want to play a movie. The file is not appearing on the movie play dialog when I open it.
Also the frame counter, lag counter and input ... aren't shown on the screen.
right now, the code that composites the screen layers and draws the HDU only works in the direct3d display method. bizhawk will switch to the gdi+ display method when it has trouble starting up the direct3d display method for some reason. yeah, this is crappy, sorry.
You have not provided any useful information that would allow someone to help you.
1. What are you trying to do?
2. What happens when you try to do it? Are you getting an error message? If so, what is the error message?
3. What version of Windows are you running?
You say "it still won't load" which implies that you may have asked for help previously, but there's nothing else from you in this thread. Bizhawk will not work on Windows 98.
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3572)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
YOu need more than the .net frame work (direct x sdk, and c++ runtime for instance). Run the dependency installer that came with bizhawk, that's all that is needed.
Do hello with all here is with the emulator I have small problems here what occurs when I record a video and that I it revisionne after it do at all what I film for example on plays of combat style street fighter when I make a perfect during the recording Ben when I view I am caught damage and all is to shift on the levels of the blow with final C me which am beaten by perfect is a bug of the emulator? if somebody could help me please
Joined: 8/14/2009
Posts: 4089
Location: The Netherlands
- Street Fighter 2010 on NES
- Street Fighter II: Champion Edition on PCE or SMS
These are my guesses.
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa
<dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects.
<Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits
<adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Bizhawk 1.03 doesn't work for me... I have the prereqs installed and all.
I try to run it and it crashes before it starts. It's weird cos I can run 1.01 without any problem. I don't know if it helps, but I'm using windows 7, and there are no error messages, just windows saying that Bizhawk.MultiClient has stopped working. :/
I have another issue. In bizhawk 1.01 in the game Vigilante for the SMS, it's impossible do jump and move forward at the same time... To jump you have to press both 1 and 2 buttons, which works fine, but when you jump you can't move the character... This makes the game impossible to finish.
In Kega fusion or Gens the controls work fine...
Joined: 10/14/2005
Posts: 28
Location: Fort Worth Texas US
problem with Bizhawk 1.03 it will not start I have installed bizhawk_prereqs.exe and the BizHawk.MultiClient.exe still will not start I have windows 7 ultimate sp1 32bit heres the error message I get
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: bizhawk.multiclient.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.1.2130
Problem Signature 03: 4f765588
Problem Signature 04: BizHawk.MultiClient
Problem Signature 05: 1.0.1.2130
Problem Signature 06: 4f765588
Problem Signature 07: 4e3
Problem Signature 08: 54
Problem Signature 09: System.IO.FileNotFoundException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
is there a fix for this??
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player
(3572)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4754
Location: Tennessee
For anyone having trouble starting Bizhawk:
I suspect the pre_req installer has some issues as someone else had a problem in which installing directx sdk fixed it. (Even though that is one of the things the installer was supposed to install).
What you need is:
DirectX end user (dxwsetup.exe).NET 4.0 (dotNetFx40_Full_setup.exe)C++ Runtime (vcredist_x64.exe)
Please install these one at a time, in this order. Until BizHawk works. I ask too that you post which one of these fixed your problem (and thus was not installed by the prereq installer).
Joined: 10/14/2005
Posts: 28
Location: Fort Worth Texas US
The dotNetFx40_Full_setup.exe Worked thank you I guess the windows update version didn't work now BizHawk.MultiClient.exe does work now thanks to dotNetFx40_Full_setup.exe